Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

Writing, Teaching, Language, Landscape, Life

Beauty, Skulls, and Culture

8 Comments

Beauty

Beauty

This wonderful and wise pendant arrived last week, a gift from my dear friend, Kenna, in celebration of Meadowlark. I cradled it in my palm, felt the intricate ridges of its braided back against my skin, and was again amazed at the unimagined life of its own that unfolds around Meadowlark. 

Beauty has surrounded me these past few weeks, in my students as the semester begins and in our Raven’s Time: Wildness and Beauty class through Story Circle, in seeing Wyatt, Luke, and Wynn launched into a new school year (grades 12, 10, and 9), and Meadowlark’s continued expanding path in the world. The blessed busy continues, as Wyatt starts the process of college applications and preparing for his karate Black Belt test in November, Luke starts setting things in place to be an exchange student next year, and Wynn’s days involve dance before school, school, then volleyball practice until the evening. We watched Luke’s soccer match in the rain last week and Wynn finished the game of her volleyball tournament with a spike yesterday. 

Book Launch for Meadowlark is almost here—Saturday, September 14th at Collected Works, 4:00 pm

I thought of all of this as I gazed at the pendant. 

Beauty and love of what you do fills our Raven’s Time class. Last week we explored the ideas of “Skulls as Culture.” Raven’s Time is its own journey in following beauty. I was deep into working on another book, a memoir about the ranch where I grew up in Cascabel, a few years ago and a series of what can only be described as synchronistic events happened surrounded these ideas of Raven’s Time, until these became so numerous and strong that I finally set aside the other manuscript and literally “followed” the path Raven’s Time created in my life. As I ran through the trails of the desert, again and again the phrase, “Choose beauty,” came into my mind. And, so I did and the ideas within Raven’s Time filled my life. The past year has been  filled with Meadowlark, and to immerse myself again in the ideas of Raven’s Time is an experience of deep beauty. 

Here is a video I made to begin our week of “Skulls as Culture:”

“Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.”—Rumi

* * *

To subscribe and receive Dewdrops in your email, please enter your email address in the box under “Follow this blog via email” or click on the ‘Follow’ icon in lower right-hand corner of the blog’s screen and ‘Confirm Follow’ in the email you receive. To return to website: www.dawnwink.com

Author: Dawn Wink

Dawn Wink is a writer and educator whose work explores the beauty and tensions of language, culture, and place.

8 thoughts on “Beauty, Skulls, and Culture

  1. Pingback: Dewdrops Birthday | Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

  2. It. In older dogs it is probably one of the leading causes of
    death. Territorial aggression is common in canines.

  3. Congratulations Dawn! Tu “Alondra” ya va en vuelo. Hope to see you signing some books someday at El Pendulo in Mexico City. I went back this summer to San Miguel de Allende and Mexico City, I can see you and Noé enjoying your time and taking Meadowlark to new horizons. I already recommended your novel to some friends. Un gran abrazo y que gusto que tengas el privilegio de ser una escritora disfrutando del sueño con tu familia, eso ya es en sí una bendición.

  4. Beautifu! I am so happy about your success and richness in life. Nancy “Yates”

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Hi Dawn, I will be traveling with my Road Scholar job when you are signing at Collected Works, but I will be sure to have you personalize one for me at the Hillerman Conference. Hope all is well in your busy life. Much love, Anne

    Anne Hillerman 304 Calle Oso, Santa Fe, N.M. 505-983-5615 http://www.annehillerman.com http://www.wordharvest.com Watch for my novel, Spider Woman’s Daughter, to be published by HarperCollins Oct. 1, 2013!

    Date: Sun, 1 Sep 2013 12:08:55 +0000 To: annehillerman@hotmail.com

    • Dear Anne, Oh, thank you ever so much for taking the time to write. You were absolutely with us in spirit at the book launch! Of course I would love to personalize a copy for you at the Hillerman Conference. I so look forward to that time. Thank you so much for including me in such an incredible conference. Much love to you and safe travels, Dawn

  6. Dawn, you are the epitome of beauty, so to choose beauty is to choose your heart over and over again, which allows the rest of us to experience even more beauty in the world! So, thank you for following your heart right into all of our hearts. 🙂

    • Kenna, what you write is such a reflection of your own incredible, generous spirit and way of walking through the world choosing beauty again and again. Thank you so much for sharing your spirit and beauty with me – and with the world. xoxo

Leave a Reply

