Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

Writing, Teaching, Language, Landscape, Life

Meadowlark Cover

72 Comments

untitled

It’s HERE! It’s here. It’s here. It’s here!

I just received the cover for Meadowlark from the publisher. And I LOVE it! I approached the cover with much trepeditation. I had some ideas. The publisher had some ideas. All I really knew was, “I’ll know it when I see it.” I worried that my expectations were too high, that whatever the image, it wouldn’t quite be it. I needn’t have spent energy on that. I am beyond thrilled. This image was taken on the ranch of the land Grace that walked and lived. I could go on and on about what I love about this cover—and all center on how this image conveys Grace’s story.

I am deeply grateful for what authors have written about Meadowlark:  

“Dawn Wink writes in the tradition of O.E. Rolvaag, Willa Cather, Mari Sandoz, and Mary Clearman Blew, with a clear-eyed understanding of the connections between isolation and oppression, especially for women, on the Great Plains. Wink is not afraid to look at difficult and uncomfortable issues such as domestic violence, Indian boarding schools, or the law’s corruption. She also surprises us by writing about intimate and hidden issues like early 20th-century contraception. She has a fine sense for characters and a deep understanding of land. The scene where Grace Robertson, her protagonist, makes a punching bag out of a feed sack in order to work out her anger, and then returns to work and love, is worth the price of the novel by itself. This is a gritty novel but also a hopeful one, exploring the ugliness of power and the ways despair can drive good people to do awful things but also exploring compassion’s ability to bind, rejuvenate, and redeem.”     — Kent Meyers, The Work of Wolves (South Dakota One Book 2005), Twisted Tree, The Witness of Combines

“The lives of those who homesteaded in Dakota Territory were difficult; the men and women tough enough to survive were not always kind and well-behaved. Dawn Wink’s Meadowlark thunders with harsh truths learned from her own ranching family history, including her knowledge of Lakota ways. And in these pages the prairie sings its truths.”     — Linda Hasselstrom, South Dakota Author of the Year, No Place Like Home: Notes from a Western Life,         Between Grass and Sky, Feels Like Far, Land Circle, Going Over East, Windbreak

Meadowlark is in the tradition of the American Western Novel, but with a twist. The heroes of this heart-felt book are the women who populated the mythic west and the reader gets a credible glimpse of what life might have been like for them. Many of the scenes ring true due to the author’s obvious familiarity with the inner workings of a ranch, her interest in the plight of her characters, and her love of the land.”     — Dan O’Brien, Two time winner of the Western Heritage Award, Buffalo for the Broken Heart (South Dakota One Book 2009)The Contract Surgeon, Stolen Horses, The Indian Agent

Prairie, June 2013

Prairie, June 2013

Meadowlark is a love story of the best kind: achingly real. At its center is Grace, a turn-of-the-previous-century teenaged bride battered by her husband and left alone for days on the isolated South Dakota prairie with her young son and a ranch to care for. Grace learns to love the tough and surprisingly beautiful prairie, the horse on whose back she finds freedom, her son, the women friends who become her family, and finally, her own scarred self. This haunting story soars like the song of the meadowlark it is named for, determined to be heard.”     — Susan J. Tweit, Colorado Book Award Winner. Walking Nature Home, Season’s in the Desert, Barren, Wild, and Worthless

“This heroine’s quest for meaning in the shadow of an abusive marriage is every bit as lonely and piercing as a meadowlark’s song heard over miles of empty prairie.”     — Jamie Lisa ForbesUnbroken, 2011 WILLA winner for Outstanding Literary Fiction.

With unprecedented lyric beauty, Dawn Wink brings the myriad chambers of Grace’s inquisitive mind and indelible spirit alive to the point where no reader will ever forget her story.     — Laurie Wagner Buyer, author of the award-winning memoirs When I Came West and Spring’s Edge: A  Ranch Wife’s Chronicles 

Meadowlark will be released by Pronghorn Press the end of July, 2013.  

Author: Dawn Wink

Dawn Wink is a writer and educator whose work explores the beauty and tensions of language, culture, and place.

72 thoughts on “Meadowlark Cover

  1. Pingback: Beauty, Skulls, and Culture | Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

  2. Pingback: You will find that it is necessary to let things go… | Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

  3. Pingback: A Photo Journal of the Ranch | Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

  4. Congratulations! It is so exciting! I can’t wait to read it!

  5. Hi Dawn! It’s beautiful, it’s beautiful, it’s beautiful! No wonder you’re pleased. I’m looking forward to reading it.

  6. How thrilling for you to realize resonant legacy and tribute in one place. Congratulations! Carole

  7. Dawn – My eyes are aching to read your book and the cover is like eye candy to soothe the waiting! CONGRATULATIONS – what an amazing and profound legacy you leave for your family. Will stay posted for date of book signing. Embrazos grandees, Sandy

    • Dear Sandy, Oh, have you shared this journey. I can’t wait to share Meadowlark with you. Thank you for the years of friendship. Much, much love, Dawn

  8. Winkie! I am so impressed….good for you, and the cover is beautiful….a bit raw, like the life Grace must have lived. I can’t wait to read it!! Love you, Nancy “Yates”

    Sent from my iPad

    • Dear Nancy, Yes, you express this perfectly here — “..and the cover is beautiful….a bit raw, like the life Grace must have lived.” Absolutely. Love you! Dawn

  9. How thrilling! I can’t wait to read it and this novel is sure to be a tremendous success! Thank you for pursuing your dream and inspiring us all! Peace – Polly

  10. Absolutely heart rendering, dear friend! What a welcoming and spacious invitation. So thrilled for you and yours. Love, Patty

  11.  Hi Dawn! It is so good to see your face!!!!!!!! I don’t have the time to write now, but here is a picture of myself and Simeon in Greece 🙂 We had a great time 🙂 Daniel could not come, he has been working  a lot! Regards!!!!!!      Love, Nevy

    ________________________________

    • Dear Nevy, Oh, so wonderful to hear from you! Please do send me a photo of you and Simeon and Greece! I would so love to see. Greece is one of the places on The List to visit one day! Love, Dawn

  12. Hi Dawn… it’s beautiful! And I’m so happy for you. I look forward to the book signing. Please keep me posted. Also, I’m not sure if I can do your class, but will do my best to make it happen. I miss your enthusiasm and energy.

    Diane

    • Dear Diane, Oh, and with your artist’s eye, I love that you love this. I do hope that you can join us in Raven’s Time. We would have too much fun. I hope to create a community where we explore ideas together and support one another, and each writer and artists then takes these ideas to expand and develop their own work. Love and hugs, Dawn

  13. Dawn!  This is just so exciting!  I cannot wait to read it.  When will it be on the market?  Congratulations to you!  Love, Shirlee

    ________________________________

  14. I have some trouble with Facebook ( because I don’t know how to work it & Greg is no help) so if you sent the cover pix I can’t get them….but super congratulations on your book & I’m anxious to read it….I hope someone here gets it in as we have no book store per se here……much love Micki

    • Dear Grandma Micki. Not to worry. 🙂 I’ll send out something in Dewdrops, where people can order directly from me, if they’d like. Much, much love, Dawn

  15. LOVELY comments from the other authors!!

    ________________________________

  16. Beatiful cover! The cover makes all the difference when one is browsing in a book store. From the many praises your book has garnered, it must be a good one. I’ll have to remember it comes out in July. Congratulations!

  17. Fantastic job Dawn. I am looking forward to reading your novel.
    Kurt

  18. Congrats dear Dawn – it is beautiful and i can’t wait to read the book!!!

  19. Dawn, How exciting! It is delicious and inspiring! I can’t wait to read it cover to beautiful cover. And, those were some rockin’ reviews from fellow authors! I have to tell you that Kent Meyers “the Work of Wolves” is one of my favorite all time books. How wonderful to have such a glowing review from him. Congratulations!

    • Rebecca, Thanks so much! Can’t wait to share with you, who loves horses so much. I love that The Work of Wolves by Kent Meyers is one of your favorite all-time books. Mine, too. I was overjoyed when he wrote the blurb. XOXO to you, Dawn

  20. Gorgeous! Like you Dawn! CONGRATULATIONS! I have edited and translated 2 books so I know what working with publishers is like.
    WELL DONE!!!!!!!!! best wishes,
    Latifa

  21. That is a gorgeous cover, Dawn! Congratulations! Can’t wait to read it.

  22. Beautiful!

  23. The cover is lovely, and I can’t wait to read it. Will you have a launch party in Santa Fe? Or a reading at Collected Works?

    • Dear Marsha, Yes, there will be a launch party in Santa Fe. I’m still finalizing where and when. Thanks so much for asking. I’d so love to see you and will post any book launch in Dewdrops. Love and hugs, Dawn

  24. I’m so proud of you I could burst! Can’t wait to grab my copy!

  25. WOW! Congratulations! My daughter Emily got married last Sat.beneath the West Fork fire in Pagosa Springs, Co. and I am in Evergreen casa/gato sitting for them for 2+ weeks! Liz

  26. Stunning cover and reviews-you’re off! Let the wild ride begin!

  27. Wow! Amazing cover. If I didn’t know you and the story you wrote, I would buy the book based on the cover alone. Congrats, Dawn!

  28. Congratulations, Dawn! Can’t wait to read the book. When it comes out, would like to interview you for my Word Journeys and 366 Writing blogs, which have considerable readership and which are very well promoted. If you check them out, you can see how wide ranging and extensive the interviews are. Let me know if this can work for you.

    • Hi Bob,
      Thanks so much. You know that feeling of, at last, the book coming into the world. Oh, I’d love to share Meadowlark with your readership. Thank you and thank you. Hugs, Dawn

  29. Dawn,
    Congratulations to you! You are such a talented and gifted writer. While a person can’t “judge a book by its cover”-this cover seems to draw the reader in and discover your wondrous story. Fantastic and I can hardly wait till it hits the shelves.
    Love,
    Sharon

    • Dear Sharon,
      Oh, thank you, thank you! I respond to the cover in this way, as well. I just keep staring at it, as it is beyond what I’d imaged. Love, love to you, Dawn

  30. The cover is beautiful Dawn. I am so looking forward to buying my own copy of your novel.

  31. Beautiful cover!! Will you do a book tour, Dawn?

  32. Truly great cover, Dawn. I’d buy the book based solely on the cover alone!!! Congrats.

  33. I LOVE the cover, Dawn – congratulations! You must be over the moon!!!

  34. Love the cover too!

  35. Dawn, it’s completely beautiful! I am so excited for you. I can’t wait to read it again!

  36. Oh Yes!!!!
    I can hardly wait to read!

  37. Wow what a cover, all the elements of prairie living clearly defined. Congratulations Dawn! I am proud to know you.

  38. Congratulations!!!!!! Love you!

    Sent from my little device to yours

Leave a Reply

