Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

Writing, Teaching, Language, Landscape, Life

When I Am An Old Horsewoman

19 Comments

When I Am An Old Horsewoman © Just My Tidbits

When I Am An Old Horsewoman © Just My Tidbits

I sat with coffee and candles this morning and read this poem. It speaks of such spirit and beauty. 
For you.
*
When I Am An Old Horsewoman
I shall wear turquoise and diamonds,
And a straw hat that doesn’t suit me
And I shall spend my social security on
white wine and carrots,
And sit in my alleyway of my barn
And listen to my horses breathe.
*
I will sneak out in the middle of a summer night
And ride the old bay gelding,
Across the moonstruck meadow
If my old bones will allow
And when people come to call, I will smile and nod
As I walk past the gardens to the barn
and show instead the flowers growing
inside stalls fresh-lined with straw.
I will shovel and sweat and wear hay in my hair
as if it were a jewel
*
And I will be an embarrassment to ALL
Who will not yet have found the peace in being free
to have a horse as a best friend
A friend who waits at midnight hour
With muzzle and nicker and patient eyes
For the kind of woman I will be
When I am old.
*
-Author Patty Barnhart

( A special thank you to Peter Edgell for lifting this poem to light this morning.)

* * *

To subscribe and receive Dewdrops in your email, please enter your email address in the box under “Follow this blog via email” or click on the ‘Follow’ icon in lower right-hand corner of the blog’s screen and ‘Confirm Follow’ in the email you receive. To return to website: www.dawnwink.com

Author: dawnwink

Dawn Wink is a writer and educator whose work explores the beauty and tensions of language, culture, and place.

19 thoughts on “When I Am An Old Horsewoman

  1. This is my favorite poem, I am going to write this on a wall or frame it for the wall.Thanks for putting this up.

    • Toni, it is now my new favorite poem, too. I just discovered this morning. This is absolutely going above my writing desk. Thanks so much for taking time to connect. Here’s to both of our favorite poem! Dawn

  2. Dawn I read this poem a few days ago online and thought of you, “I shall wear turquoise. . . ” It’s a beautiful poem. Thank you for posting this in Dewdrops.

  3. Her father’s daughter, me thinks…..Love the poem! Love Micki

  4. Mrs. Dawn Wink. It´s an honor to be a member of your web. Maybe you don’t remember me but I really love every single thing you post within your page.
    I am from Guatemala and met in Barcelo IGA-NTC November 2013. Fantastic information you´ve shared here along these days.
    XOXO

    • Querida Rossanna! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and connect! I am so grateful to share this journey and web together. Gran abrazos y cariños! Dawn

  5. Reminds me of Grace.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. How beautiful! I can see my oldest granddaughter becoming this very person. Thanks and Love Cathy

  7. Written from the heart!

  8. Love it, what a woman.
    Love and hugs for you Dawn.
    Anja

  9. I fell in love with this poem. It speaks to so much…growing old gracefully, horses friends full of unconditional love, the preservation of life and profound peace.

  10. Pingback: Dewdrops Birthday | Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers